Heritage Hall Fellowship; Oklahoma HOF inductees

UCO HR rewarded

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) recently awarded the University of Central Oklahoma Human Resources Society the 2021-2022 Merit Award for providing superior growth and development opportunities to student chapter members.

SHRM, is the world’s largest association dedicated to human resource management. The Student Chapter Merit Awards program began in 1972 and was created to encourage student chapters to demand continued excellence in the following areas: student chapter requirements; chapter operations; Chapter programming and member professional development; support of the human resources profession; and SHRM’s commitment.

For more information about the UCO College of Business, visit www.uco.edu/business.

Oklahomans will be inducted into the Hall of Fame

Eight Oklahoma residents will be inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame and receive Oklahoma’s highest honor at the 95th Annual Oklahoma Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at 7 p.m. November at the Cox Business Convention Center in Tulsa.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame was founded in 1927 to honor Oklahomaians during their lifetime with the state’s highest honor and to educate Oklahoma’s youth about the rich history of our state.

The 2022 Oklahoma Hall of Fame recipients are:

  • Sue Ann Arnall, of pole
  • Bob Blackburnfrom Oklahoma City
  • Chet Cadieuxfrom Tulsa
  • Patty Gassoby Norman
  • Roger Hardestyfrom Tulsa
  • Joy Harjofrom Tulsa
  • Pamela McCauleyfrom Oklahoma City
  • Leon Russellfrom Tulsa

For more information about this year’s honorees, the ceremony, purchasing tickets or nomination to the Oklahoma Hall of Fame, contact Brenda Schwartz at 405-523-3209 or [email protected].

Heritage Hall alumna receives scholarship

The Heritage Hall Alumni Association (HHAA) recently recognized Taknesha HawthorneHeritage Hall Class of 2008, as the recipient of the 2022 Alumni Scholarship.

The scholarship honors an alumnus who has studied in higher education for at least one semester and exemplifies the principles of the school’s Charger Code, which is to learn with honor, lead with courage, and serve with compassion.

Hawthorne attended Heritage Hall from 2000 to 2008. She continued her education at the University of Oklahoma, where she earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the College of Nursing. After working as a cardiac intensive care nurse for eight years, Hawthorne was accepted into the Master of Science in Cardiovascular Perfusion program at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia.

Winners receive $1,000 and an additional $250 will be donated to the charity of their choice. Hawthorne chose HeartGift. This organization provides lifesaving heart surgeries to children around the world where specialized medical treatment is rare or non-existent.

To be considered for this column, please email achievement announcements and photos to [email protected].

Back To Top